The Trustees of the New India Foundation


Nandan Nilekani co-founded Infosys and is the Non Executive Chairman of Infosys from 24, Aug 2017. He is the Co-founder and Chairman of EkStep, a not-for-profit effort to create a learner centric, technology based platform to improve basic literacy and numeracy for millions of children. He was most recently the Chairman of the Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI) in the rank of a Cabinet Minister.

Born in Bengaluru, Nilekani received his Bachelor’s degree from IIT, Bombay. Fortune Magazine conferred him with “Asia’s Businessman of the year 2003”. In 2005 he received the prestigious Joseph Schumpeter prize for innovative services in economy, economic sciences and politics .In 2006, he was awarded the Padma Bhushan. He was also named Businessman of the year by Forbes Asia. Time magazine listed him as one of the 100 most influential people in the world in 2006 & 2009. Foreign Policy magazine listed him as one of the Top 100 Global thinkers in 2010. He won The Economist Social & Economic Innovation Award for his leadership of India’s Unique Identification initiative (Aadhaar). In 2017, he received the Lifetime Achievement Award from E & Y. CNBC- TV 18 conferred India Business leader award for outstanding contributor to the Indian Economy-2017 and he also received the 22nd Nikkei Asia Prize for Economic & Business Innovation 2017.

Nandan Nilekani is the author of “Imagining India” and co- authored his second book with Viral Shah, “Rebooting India: Realizing a Billion Aspirations”.

Ramachandra Guha is a historian and columnist who has held visiting professorships at the universities of Yale, Stanford, and Oslo, the London School of Economics, and the Indian Institute of Science. His books include Savaging the Civilized (University of Chicago Press, 1999) Environmentalism: A Global History (Addison Wesley Longman, 2000); A Corner of a Foreign Field (Picador, 2002); India after Gandhi (Macmillan, 2007); and Gandhi Before India (Penguin, 2013). In 2008, and again in 2013, Prospect magazine named him as one of the world’s most influential intellectuals. In January 2009 he was awarded the Padma Bhushan.

Ramachandra Guha serves as the Managing Trustee of the New India Foundation.

Manish Sabharwal is the Chairman and co-founder of Teamlease Services, India’s largest staffing and human capital firm. Teamlease also operates India’s first vocational university national PPP apprenticeship program. Manish is a member of the National Skill Mission, Central Advisory Board or Education and various state and central government committees on education, employment and employability. He also serves as an Independent Director on the Board of the Reserve Bank of India. He got his MBA from The Wharton School and is an alumnus of Shriram College, Delhi and Mayo College, Ajmer.

Srinath Raghavan is a historian and Senior Fellow at Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi. He is also a Visiting Professor of International Relations at Ashoka University. He took his PhD in War Studies from King’s College London, where he also taught for many years. Prior to entering academia, he spent six years as an infantry officer in the Indian Army.

Raghavan’s books including War and Peace in Modern India: A Strategic History of the Nehru Years (Permanent Black & Macmillan, 2010); 1971: A Global History of the Creation of Bangladesh (Harvard University Press & Permanent Black, 2013); India’s War: The Making of Modern South Asia, 1939-1945 (Penguin Allen Lane & Basic Books, 2016); and Fierce Enigmas: A History of the United States in South Asia (Penguin Allen Lane & Basic Books, forthcoming 2018). In addition he has co-authored or edited another four volumes on Indian foreign policy, strategy and contemporary history.

Raghavan is a regular commentator on international affairs and politics. He has served as a member of the National Security Advisory Board and as the Chief Editor of the Kargil War History for the Ministry of Defence. He is a recipient of the K. Subrahmanyam Award for Strategic Studies (2011) and the Infosys Prize for Social Sciences (2015).