1. The book written should be in English or translated about any aspect of India since Independence
2. The book should have been published in the calendar year 2017 for nomination of the first prize given in 2018.
3. The prize is open to all authors independent of their nationality
4. The NIF fellows will not be eligible to be nominated for this prize